I Have No Idea What I’m Doing

Okay, I’m finding it both humorous and also somewhat…disturbing that so many of us are having journal angst today. Mostly humorous.

For those of you  who clicked on this blog because you thought the title indicated you would see a gopher doing customer service,  a cat attempting a science experiment or a dog trying drive or do hair or some such, let me get you up to speed on what you’ve inadvertently stumbled into.

First, I wrote this post.  Then Laurie replied with this post.  In it, she asked some very valid questions (which naturally got me over-thinking my already over-thought conundrum) and pointed me to this series of posts about journaling that I somehow had missed previously, but that got me to thinking YET MORE about this whole mess.

Confused yet?

Me too.

The central question that struck me as though I’d been slapped (in a good way Laurie…in a good way) was “What do I want my journal to be?”

Whoa.  Never thought of that.

In my last post I had framed it more in terms what I didn’t want it to be…not like a series of lame FaceBook posts (had ramen for dinner, wicked tired today, omg my new iPad Mini just came), not like a synopsis of the news headlines of the day, certainly not fodder for blackmail, and not merely an amalgam of stupid factoids mixed with things I’m grateful for.

But what did I want it to be?

Short answer? I had no frigging idea.

And after reading Laurie’s comments about not wanting her journal to be an emotional dumping ground, and concerns about other individuals possibly getting their grubby mitts (my words, not hers) on archived journals in which such deeply personal information was logged at some point in the future, well, that made me want to throw up a little.

I have bins of old journals in storage, chock full of the kind of stuff anyone who found them posthumously could certainly use to come to the conclusion that I was one helluva crazy biatch.  I am SOOOOOOO burning those. I mean,  of all the legacies I hope to leave behind…that ain’t one of ’em. Though, it may be unavoidable at this point, who knows.

But I digress.

One thing I do have sorted out as a result of all this, is the Gratitude List. In her comment, Laurie pointed me to a pretty magenta weekly Moleskine. I kinda dug the weekly format and got the idea that it might be small enough to tuck into a pocket of whatever planner I end up using.

It wasn’t.

However, her suggestion did lead me to this  Moleskine weekly soft cover planner/notebook that will fit. The layout is a little different than the one she suggested, but since it has all 7 days on the left page (unlined and with no time slots) and a full sheet of note paper on the right, I thought I could keep a running weekly list of things I’m grateful for on the note page and at the end of each day, transfer the single most significant item over the daily section. Probably with a sticker or two for good measure.

So “Gratitude on the Go” is officially solved. I actually prefer the new weekly w/daily highlight idea better than my original idea of just writing a daily list, and the flexible cover and smaller size (3.9″  x 5.4″) will allow it to slip into either a Personal or Compact Filo, which means I don’t have to carry yet another book around with me. Yay!

That leaves my Planner and my Journal.

I suppose what I would like my journal to be (in light of the fact that somebody may find it and read it when I’m dead) is a record of my growth, self-discovery, epiphanies and life lessons. Things that perhaps I would pass on to a child if I had one. Not necessarily all sunshine and roses…because life isn’t…but what I’ve learned, the things I felt mattered.

Yeah. That’s what I want. And I still think I can achieve that with a nice blank book.

I also really liked Marcia’s comment about using a special symbol to note  in her planner the days she writes in her journal. Genius! Totally stealing that idea. Thank you Marcia : )

Now we’re down to just figuring out my planner. And hey, I’m an old pro at dubbing around with that, so I’m pretty confident that between now and December 31st I’ll come up with something.

And you know I’ll post about it ; )

Wow you guys…thank you all for your great comments and for rallying to the cause! Phew, it was kind of exhausting wasn’t it?!  But it sure was fun!!

Stay tuned for deets on what planner I go with for the New Year, and how the new journal & Gratitude books work out……..

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurie
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 19:08:05

    This is awesome!! I’m so glad for you that you’ve decided. Sooooo, will you try this system out with, say, a pocket Moleskine Volant notebook until the end of the year? Or will you patiently wait until January to get this party started?

    *Ducks while you lob a vase my way* ;D

  2. thezeitgeistofzoe
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 19:17:47

    well, thank YOU, because you led me to the moleskine weekly and i’m pretty excited about that little bugger!

    no, i think i’ll just save it for the new year. i don’t go out and party anymore, so that can be my big celebration, lol! i already have a blank book for my 2013 journal, and i did order the weekly mole, so i think that’s about all the money i’m willing to spend on the solution for now.

    plus…i need my cash for the onslaught of planner refill indecision that’s coming my way ; )

  3. Laurie
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 11:21:14

    You know I gotta ask….what, if you don’t mind telling us, is the blank book you’ve chosen as your journal? (Just curious!)

  4. thezeitgeistofzoe
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 16:10:56

    it is just a good quality, spiral bound notebook i picked up somewhere because i liked it’s clean look and the nice thick paper. i used to stockpile blank books of all types. now i try not to stockpile things anymore (except filo’s, pens, handbags and apparently now tablets) but i hung on to this one because i liked it so much, but never knew what to do with it. now i do : )

    i’ll post about it once the new year starts no doubt!

  5. Laurie
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 16:56:07

    Can’t wait to hear how it goes in the new year!

  6. LJ
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 06:45:03

    Love this idea – I plan to start journalling in the New Year, but I have a horrible feeling that it’s something I will start (again) and give up after 3 days (again). Maybe I should go for something simpler to at least get me started doing something every day… :o)

Leave a Reply

