Leaving on a Jet Plane

Well, it’s finally here…VACATION!

This time tomorrow I’ll be in the air, on my way to warm, (hopefully) sunny Cozumel Meh-hico for a week with the love of my life.

Suffice to say, I’m more than a little excited.

I don’t know about you, but to me the point of vacation is sort of not to plan. To chillax, to explore, to have a new adventure;  to go where the experience takes you.

So I gave a lot of thought to whether or not my planner would come on vacay with me.

I’m still loving the Veronica, but I have to admit…she’s a big girl. And realistically, in a world of flight tracking apps, Google calendars and journaling tools (a cool one I found for the iPad, and hope to use to chronicle my trip, is called Day One), am I really going to need 1.125″ of 2 pages per day with me while I lounge on the beach?

Oh hells no.

But…I’m also a Type Capital-A, OCD-riddled, planner junkie. No way I can go anywhere or do anything totally sans planner! There isn’t enough tequila in the world to make that happen.

Solution?

I resurrected one of my Compacts.

this size happens to make a great mini-planner and travel wallet

pink finsbury compact. skinny – the anti Veronica ; )

Sadly, because Compacts are so…well…compact, FC inserts won’t work. They stick out so insanely far, even someone who isn’t  neurotic would tweak.

Determined to stick to FC inserts these days, pretty much no matter what, I trimmed down some Franklin Covey 2012 Her Point of View weekly inserts I had lying around from an old “can I trim FC stuff to fit FF without going mad and/or ending up with an epic fail” experiment, and loaded them up.

trimmed, these babies fit perfectly, and add a nice festive touch of color

i did copy my schedule from october 1st to present, but not my to-do’s. won’t be needing those where i’m going!

Other than the July – Dec 2012 monthly tabs and Oct – Dec weekly inserts, the rest of the planner is just filled with lined paper.

…”dear diary, my bf looks so dreamy in his spedo…” (bahahahaha)

On the day slots, I will no doubt take down where we went, what we did, etc so that when we get home I can elaborate on that for my journal. I can’t imagine I’ll do much else, other than take the occasional note or jot down key phrases I want to remember, like “Una cerveza, por favor” or “Dónde está el baño?” or possibly “No puedo encontrar mi hotel….”

More than likely I won’t even use the thing, but you know me, I have to have something planneresque with me, so this is what it’s gonna be.

Anyway, I hope to blog while I’m away…but no promises. Ideally, I hope to post a little bit of interestingness (quite possibly drunkenness will be more accurate an assessment) every night, so stay tuned to this space for, at the very least, a chuckle or two.

adiós, mis amigos!!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David Popely (@davidpopely)
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 15:05:32

    Great post! I just came back from vacation (I’m still technically on it) and I understand *totally* where you’re coming from. My solution was to take my personal Malden, and then to spend the entire time away obsessing about whether i should have taken my A5 Kendal with me. Holidays are twin-purpose for me (and often opposing purposes)….to get away from having to have a plan, but simultaneously to take some time to plan for the next period of time. I’ve done this for the past 20 years and it works well for me. Best vacation I ever had was when my (then) wife was revising for exams every day and I got to take my (then) small kids to the pool and sit by the side working my planner while they swan and my wife stayed in our accommodation revising – perfect all round!

    Have a great vacation…..don’t spend too much time *not* having fun…….:)

  2. kanalt17
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 12:12:01

    When we went to Turks and Caicos last year (a year almost to the day) I did bring my planner but it stayed locked away in the safe during the day. I took it out each evening to write down what we did. But other than that, it was never used. It was a total vacation – no phone, no television, no Internet, no planner. It was the most relaxed I have ever been in my life. I should take more of those vacations, but I’m too wired to get things done for that. Maybe a day here and there will suffice.

    Great post! Have a great time!!!

  3. LimeTree
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 17:44:55

    Great post! Some sort of paper “device” is always needed, doesn’t matter where we go! 🙂

    what pen is that one you are using?

  4. Hannah C.
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 00:10:06

    I love Day One! I actually use it very rarely – it’s an archive of some old online journal/blog/things that I had a while ago, and I plan to use it to archive my written journals eventually. Turns out I prefer journaling on paper. ANYWAY, it’s a wonderful app! And now you can add photos and such, too…I hope it works well for you. 🙂

    Love your vacation planner solution!

  5. Tina
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 03:00:35

    My vacation planning consists on a print out paper with the “schedule” (which we rarely ever do hahaha) a tiny notebook (budget, wish list and gift list) and that’s it! But now that I’ve been introduced to FF getting a proper panner on my next trip to Las Vegas sounds very tempting!

    Have an epic time!

    P.S. As a Spanish speaker Meh-hico made me giggle ^^

Leave a Reply

