Live. Really Live. Start Today…Start RIGHT NOW

In the quiet of the often still-dark morning, I engage in a little ritual. I get up a few minutes early and peruse the Internet in search of interestingness over a cup of green tea with honey while my body and mind slowly acclimate to the burgeoning day.

Sometimes I chuckle at captioned animals who can’t spell. Other times I catch up on all the latest goings on in the world of tech. Still others I watch Filofax video blogs on YouTube.

Today I saw this

Sisters pose for the same photo three separate times, years apart

Look at it. I mean, really…LOOK at it.

They say that a picture is worth a thousand words, but to be honest I have been staring at these three pictures (I’m counting the one of them at their youngest at the top of the photo on the left) and  I struggle with one word to describe how it makes me feel, let alone a thousand.

I suppose if I had to choose that one word it would be this:

Urgent

I’ve written before about my lessons on the frailty of the human condition and the sometimes shocking brevity of our time here. I’ve written of my ongoing quest for the mindfulness to truly live in the now.

But these photos make me feel the urgency that surrounds each moment. How to cherish it;  the time we have now…really cherish it…and those we share it with. How to move forward into the next moment without drifting slowly away from that sense of peace and gratitude. How to do what we need to do, be where we need to be, and yet not lose sight in the din of how fleeting life really is.

The rose at the place where the third sister used to be makes me choke back tears.

Because there is not stopping time. And change happens just that fast.

These photos move me to take a look at my own life. Where am I holding back? What have I been merely settling for? What if today were my last day in this mortal coil?

What am I afraid of?

What am I waiting for?

They make me determined to live.  Really. To take the leap of faith into love. Again. To write more. To spend more time doing what makes me smile as I do it without even realizing I’m smiling. To worry less about what society thinks makes me who I am and focus more on nurturing what I know makes me who I am.

To be damn sure that, after I am gone, I will have left even just one tiny, little thing (or one individual) better for having shared space and time with me.

So my dear readers, please take a look at these photos and tell me in the comments the first thing that comes to mind.  How do they make you feel? What, if anything, is seeing these sisters inspiring you to do as a result?

Let’s take this moment and cherish it together by connecting with one another…

(PS the photo came from this website entitled “40 Of The Most Powerful Photographs Ever Taken”. I encourage you to check out the other 39.)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dawn
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 15:05:54

    Zoe, these photos left me in floods of tears, my sister and I fell out over two years ago, I really want to put things right but the longer it goes on the harder it gets, Dawn x

  2. kanalt17
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 10:40:47

    What a great picture! I need to check out the others.

    First thing that comes to mind for me is my grandmother and her two sisters. Both of my great aunts served in WWII. My grandmother was home with babies while my grandfather served overseas. (He didn’t see my uncle until he was 2.) My grandmother is gone now, though her sisters are still alive. So when I see this photo, they are what come to mind – each a great lady in her own way, each offering the world a great many things. Thanks for sharing!

  3. kanalt17
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 10:50:44

    Okay, sobbing now, thanks. 😉 The ones that really got to me were the soldier pictures (of course) and anything with an animal. Okay, must find tissue…

  4. Anita Lim
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 22:18:02

    Wow, thanks for sharing these powerful images. Just had to get a tissue & only on number 29!

Leave a Reply

